More Than Honey

Markus Imhoof – Europe, USA, China

Over the past fifteen years, numerous colonies of bees have been decimated throughout the world. The causes of this disaster haven’t yet been established. Depending on the regions of the world concerned, between 50% and 90% of the bees have disappeared.This epidemic, of colossal violence and breadth, is spreading from beehive to beehive all over the planet. Everywhere, the same scenario is repeated: billions of bees leave their hives, never to return. No bodies are found in the immediate surroundings. No visible predators.

Should we incriminate pesticides and the medication used to combat them? Parasites such as varroa mites? New viruses? Travelling stress? The multiplication of electromagnetic waves disturbing the magnetite nanoparticles found in the bees’ abdomen? It seems that it is rather a combination of all these agents that has been destroying the bees’ immune defenses.

Fifty years ago, Einstein had already insisted on the dependence relation that bound the pollen gatherers to mankind: “If bees were to disappear from the globe,” he had predicted, “mankind would only have four years left to live.”

Imdb
Swiss Films
Official site





Different posters of the film

More Than Honey

Markus Imhoof – Europe, USA, Chine

Depuis une quinzaine d’années, de nombreuses colonies d’abeilles sont décimées partout dans le monde. Les causes de cette hécatombe ne sont pas encore établies. Selon les régions du monde, ce sont entre 50 et 90% des abeilles qui ont disparu. Cette épidémie, d’une violence et d’une ampleur faramineuse, est en train de se propager de ruche en ruche sur toute la planète. Partout, le même scénario se répète : par milliards, les abeilles quittent leurs ruches pour ne plus y revenir. Aucun cadavre à proximité. Aucun prédateur visible.

Faut-il incriminer les pesticides et les médicaments employés pour les combattre ? Les parasites tels que le varroa ? De nouveaux virus ? Le stress des voyages ? La multiplication des émissions électromagnétiques perturbant les nanoparticules de magnétite présentes dans l’abdomen des abeilles ? Il semble plutôt qu’une combinaison de tous ces agents détruise les défenses immunitaires des abeilles.

Il y a cinquante ans, Einstein avait déjà insisté sur la relation de dépendance qui lie les butineuses à l’homme : « Si l’abeille disparaissait du globe », avait-il prédit, « l’homme n’aurait plus que quatre années à vivre. »

Imdb
Swiss Films
Site officiel





Différentes affiches du film